In todays exciting STEM class we were introduced to coding. My experience with coding was near to nothing but I am looking forward to learning more about it.  At the start of the lesson we sat down and were told a small bit about coding and what it is by our teacher Mrs Kemp and Mrs Criaris. After this there were four stages of coding written up on the whiteboard. These were Novice, Apprentice, Practitioner and Expert. We were given a chance to select a category that we thought we would be best in. At first I chose to go into the Novice stage. We had to write down some things that we knew about coding and our experience with coding. Soon after I found out that I actually new more than I thought so I move up to the following stage. Unfortunately there were some technical difficulties and we were not able to start our first lesson of coding. Instead we were then shown a video by Code.org about peoples experience with coding. Bill gates said that his first coding experience was when he was 13 and he made a Tic Tac Toe game. This followed with the people who created Twitter, Dropbox, Clothia.com, Value and Facebook. We learnt that the famous NBA All-Star player Chris Bosh coded in collage. He was always teased that he was in a coding club after school but he stood up for himself and said it was cool. After hearing these people speak I have much more interest in coding. Next lesson I would love to get started at coding and making some small and easy games. Remember to come back to for next weeks post about some more of my coding experience.

Catchya Later 🙂

Phoenix